The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Site Suggestions

(Solved) - PHP/MySQL Database creation!! HELP SOS x_x

(4 posts)
  • Started 3 years ago by RachaelRachael
  • Latest reply from vistual
  • Topic Viewed 1286 times

RachaelRachael

I am a novice website builder (prefer to work from scratch so I am unfamiliar in using apps other than b2evolution blog as a basic blog!!). My friend has spent 30K over the last 5-7 years on her website and just fired the third web guy(I kinda think he was doing his best, but 7K in 6months no result, she is done). Originally her friend was going to school and built as he was taught-starting with Flash. Now she has a messy flash site for the main site that doesn't even come up, a quickie WordPress site acting as their home page & basic pages, three separate attached WordPress sites one for jobs-one for managers-one for clients, and a separate small pop mail server app routed through Yahoomail... The jobs, manager, and client WordPress sites have users under the categories. Managers create the jobs listing: the event name, number of guests, number of needed bartenders and number of needed servers, location, time, and date. When staff logs in they are either bartenders, servers or both & can apply to the positions based off of their job title (ie a server only can not apply to a bartenders position). Then the managers log in (really they log in multiple times a day to check on applicants) and can either approve or deny the staff. The managers have to manually update the job posting table when the positions are filled & there is a list on the Flash site that connects with the manager WordPress job listings that the managers have to update, but by clicking the event in that list it will fill in the info in the form on the flash site so the job is on both sites. She is being told that the website is fixed permanently, but they keep having errors. Mind you, I am not savvy in all the web app lingo & how far