SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

Performance Question: Dual Processers or Dual Cores?

(21 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by jd2066
  • Latest reply from jd2066
  • Topic Viewed 2216 times

jd2066

Hi,
I was wondering if anyone can tell me which is faster, two processors or one processor with two cores?
I thought it would the two processors but I searched with Google and found a result saying that it's the two cores so now I'm a bit confused.
I'm going to sleep now as it's nearly 2AM here so I'll have to check in the morning for replies.
Justin

Posted 5 years ago

ScottW

Justin, let me start by saying that I am not a CPU designer, but I used to know some of them and I would ask them the same kinds of questions. Sadly the answer is still, "it depends".

Let's consider each core as a Processing Unit (PU). The 2 single-core processors have 2 PUs and the 1 dual-core processor has 2 PUs. It would seem to be even, but already there is a disparity. There is always a limit to the number of transistors that can be written on a single die for a single chip. When you increase the number of cores on a die, there is usually a trade-off of less compute power for each core. Using the same fabrication process, it's easier to put more on a single core processor -- more pipelines, more L2, more ALUs, etc. -- than on a dual core.

Now, let's imagine that all the PUs have the same compute power. The next disparity appears in the speed at which the two processors can communicate with each other to coordinate work. The 2 cores on the same die can be interconnected by a high-speed bus that is also on-die. This bus can easily be as wide as you please and will run at the core clock speed. The 2 separate processors, however, have to have an external interconnect bus which will always be slower, narrower, and more latent. As a result, for tasks that require coordination between PUs, the dual core has a huge advantage.