How-To Geek Forums / Windows 8

(Solved) - New at installing windows - help with windows 8 and sata drive

(8 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by computernewby
  • Latest reply from computernewby
  • Topic Viewed 508 times

computernewby

Hi
I am new to this so please explain like you would to some-one who has no real idea. I have read some posts about diskpart and am a little lost. here is what i have.

I have a PC with a 64 gig sata drive C and a 300 gig sata drive F inside the box. My C drive is partitioned.
I am running Vista (which i hate)
My C drive 64 gig is on the way out as I get a black screen with flashing curser on bootup. I get into windows only on every 6 or 7th attempt at swutching on and off.
My F drive is fine and just sitting in the machine where I used to store my docs, music etc. Its quite new.
I now have a windows 8 disk and licence key.

I want to know from scratch what to do as I would love to load windows 8 on the f drive 300 gig drive and take out the whole C drive altogether. I have backed up everything so I'd like to delete or clear the 300 gig drive also so that I can make it my computer instead of the frustrating ancient 64gig which is better off in the bin.

I am guessing that I need to get into F11 Bios first?
is there an Fdisk thing I should do first on the F drive, how?

what do I do first?

Posted 1 year ago

afuhnk
afuhnk

Physically remove (or disconnect the 2 cables attached to) the 64Gb drive.
Start the computer with the Windows 8 CD in the CD/DVD Drive and follow the Windows 8 installation steps.

Note that if your computer is not set to boot from CD first you may have to enter BIOS (when you boot your computer, the first screen you see would normally show the BIOS/Setup key needed to enter BIOS/Setup - usually DELete, ESCape or one of the F keys [F1, F2 etc]) to change the BOOT ORDER (make sure CD/DVD drive is the first in the boot sequence).