How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

NEEDED: New Computer Specs Feedback

(27 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by jcmuelle
  • Latest reply from ScottW
  • Topic Viewed 3906 times

jcmuelle

Hey all,

I am getting close to purchasing my peripherals to build a new computer. I have never done this before and therefore have been going off of the advice of my brother. We found some good deals on Newegg.com. Here's what I have come up with so far:

CPU/Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

paired with

Motherboard: ASUS P5Q Pro LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboardl

Video Card: EVGA 256-P2-N751-TR GeForce 8600 GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card

Memory: OCZ Flex XLC 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1200 (PC2 9600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

My one dilemma is that I would like a quiet case as this computer will be in the bedroom. I was thinking about his case:

Antec Sonata III 500 Black 0.8mm cold rolled steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 500W Power Supply

Can someone tell me if all of this looks ok spec wise, ie. will they all work together well? Also, can i get a good recommendation for a sound card, dvd burner and hard drive?

Thanks for your help in advance!

Posted 5 years ago

Budohorseman
Budohorseman

You may wish to consider going with an ATI board if you ever intend to use two graphics cards. This board supports CrossFire (ATI) and not SLI (Nvidia) multi-graphics card solutions. I've got an Antec case and PSU and I have been very happy with them, it's all of two feet from me now and most of the noise I hear is from my external drive, the fans in the case (all four of them) are just a mild 'hum' .

If you need a nice CD/DVD burner, I have this one in my rig, and it has done me well thus far.

I also like your RAM choice, I've been a big fan of OCZ and have used it in my past three builds.