SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Off Topic

Need some serious opinions to M.C.S.E. please!!

(4 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by madmacs
  • Latest reply from JonMCC33
  • Topic Viewed 737 times

madmacs
madmacs

Hi all. As you can see in my profile I´m actually a head chef but due to allergies I am going to be giving up my trade. I´m thinking about going on a M.C.S.E. course here in Germany, it will take 8 months full-time and will be costing me about 11.000€ (not too cheap!!) I was just wondering if it would be worth my money, seeing as I have no IT background or if better suggestions for me are out there!! I´ve always liked the idea of learning all about networks and OS. Thx in advance

Posted 5 years ago

JonMCC33
JonMCC33

Microsoft's exams have gotten a lot harder and require a lot of troubleshooting concept. It's a lot more than just memorizing questions and answers that created so many "Paper MCSE" situations back in the Windows NT/2000 Server days.

The MCSE concentrates more on the server/domain environment though. If networking is what you want to learn then that's best suited for Cisco certifications such as CCNA/CCNP, etc.

Posted 5 years ago

madmacs
madmacs

Thx 4 your reply JonMMC33, well i think i expressed my wishes wrong when i wrote "networks". I actually ment servers and domains, what my question really is even if i do pass all the exams with really good grades (I know it´s not going to be a walkthrough!!) how highly looked upon is a qualified MCSE. Will it be easy finding jobs or are there too many people coming from the same "area" with IT backgrounds?

Posted 5 years ago

JonMCC33
JonMCC33