The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

Need help building a computer: absolute beginner

(29 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by johnguy
  • Latest reply from johnguy
  • Topic Viewed 1464 times

johnguy

I want to make a pc that will play games well, but is not necessarily a gaming computer. Specifically I want to play Empire total war and its acw mod smoothly on high settings. I want to build rather than buy because its cheaper and I like to learn new things. I have read that to play on high settings you should have a quad core processor, so if that's true that's my only starting point. I also want it to play movies and music well, and be fairly fast. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated because even after lots of research I really don't know where to start. Price is the biggest issue so the cheaper the better. The only absolute is that it plays etw on high, and can do everything a standard computer can do, like at schools or libraries.

Thanks

Posted 2 years ago

bobro
bobro

well its not so much the number of cores on the CPU for running one thing fast, the more cores you have the things you can run at full speed but if your just running one thing then you have 3 cores waiting to do stuff...

That said i would suggest an i5 over an i3 because even if you dont need all these cores today you might tomorrow.

I would recommend 8GB of RAM, again it might be a smidge more than you need but will never hurt to have more, (also get good quality RAM not 'value' RAM)

if your gonna be storing loads of music and movies then a normal HDD would be better, again good quality not the cheapest... I doubt you would need an SSD for this kind of oporation and that will bump the price up.

im not much of a gamer so im not to up on Graphics cards but i spent about £70 on mine and its not struggled on a game yet (does struggle on some high end bench tests though (like the one that came with it?!?!))