The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

(Solved) - My first build Please tell me what you think

(60 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by SkittlesTheCat2012
  • Latest reply from SkittlesTheCat2012
  • Topic Viewed 2999 times

SkittlesTheCat2012

Well i recently bought a nice laptop but cant play games on it do to the graphics card. So i decided to build me a gameing desktop. This is my first build so any feed back would help. I dont really have but $1000 after tax to spend so yeah.

CPU - Intel i5-3570k --- $189.99
Motherboard - ASROCK Z77 Extreme4 --- $84.99
Ram - Corsaie 8gb 2x4 D3 1600 DIMM CL9 --- $57.99
Hard Drive - HITACHIOE Hit 3.5 500GB 7200 SATA --- $64.99
Power Supply - OCZTECH 750W ZT FULLYMOD PSU 80BR -- Probably will change this out dont know what to get. But i know this one has bad reviews. -- $99.99
Case - Thermalta Commander MT ATX Case Black --- $47.99
Optical Drive - Samseom SAM 22x SATA DVD Burner --- $15.99
Video Card - Nvidia GTX 560 Ti 1gb PCIE DDH --- $229.99
Monitor AOC 23" LED --- $139.99

I ended up going a over my budget by $117 after tax so if you can help me cut this down a bit so its not aboue $1000. It would help but i still want something that can handle most games at high settings with out a problem. And of course im going to add some fans and a wireless card to it of course but thats cheap $10 20$ a piece.

Posted 2 years ago

raphoenix
raphoenix

Skittles,

Welcome to HTG.

Please post a link to your shopping website so we can compare items.

Is it newegg.com ??

Rick P.

Posted 2 years ago

SkittlesTheCat2012

No i went to micro center it has been years since i played pc games. So i dont know what todays newest games require to play on high and be smooth. I manly play FPS games some third person shooters as well like Hard reset or Hydrophobia. so on and so on maybe some call of dudty even though i think its been over done after MW2

Posted 2 years ago

raphoenix
raphoenix

Skittles,