SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

MS Patch Tuesday - October 9, 2012

(27 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by raphoenix
  • Latest reply from warlock
  • Topic Viewed 1322 times

raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Microsoft Security Bulletin Advance Notification for October 2012.

http://technet.microsoft.com/e.....n/ms12-oct

Don't forget today !!

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

(19) Total for Windows 7x64 and Office 2010x32.

We need those Service Packs for sure !!

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
Hermitt
Posts: 1310

I had 13 updates to install...

Jim

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Microsoft patches 20 bugs, including critical Word flaw. Company admits another vulnerability has been used by hackers in attacks against its own online services.

http://www.computerworld.com/s.....2012-10-09

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
Xhi
Posts: 6298

18 automatically done on my computer while I slept...

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
vistamike
Posts: 10945

I always wait a few days if not weeks!

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
LadyFitzgerald
Posts: 2232

I also wait a few days to make sure one of the updates doesn't cause problems. I generally don't install until Friday.

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
warlock
Posts: 4100

I usually wait till Saturday. Most times I read to see what each one is for.

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
whs
Posts: 17584

The updates seem to be OK. I have not seen any problems - yet.

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
SarahJames
Posts: 6581

I do have a problem with the updates on Vista. As soon as I've installed the updates I can't use MS update anymore :S
I've just tested everything to make sure it isn't something else I changed, but no, it is definitely the updates.
Will install them tomorrow one by one to find out which one is the culprit. Gotta catch some zzzzzzzzzz now ..... ;)

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

@Sarah

Vista had same problem in 2008. :( :(

http://www.krunk4ever.com/blog.....-80070490/

There is a Looong Vista Library Article on MS Technet how to (overcome) fix the issue so I'll post it tomorrow for you if you want ??

Rick P.

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
warlock
Posts: 4100

@Rick, I don't know if Sarah wants it but, didn't do the updates on my Vista machine yet. I want it.
Thanks Joe

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
bubbatie1
Posts: 1322

11 here for my 2006 vista

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
LadyFitzgerald
Posts: 2232

17 pending for my Win7 notebook. I have it set to automatically download but I determine when and if they get installed.

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

This was issued to fix most concerns.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/947821#method3

Method 2: Use the Microsoft Download Center

Click Show/Hide for Download Editions TO Download Correct Tool

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
warlock
Posts: 4100

@Rick, I can't check now probably tomorrow but, I think I already have that readiness tool installed. Thanks for the post.

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

I keep an UNOPENED COPY of this in a Safe Place just in case of catastrophe. :) :)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/.....6832116992

Need to order this next.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/.....6832416552

Is Cheap Insurance if one runs semi-current hardware on any kind of Windows machine.

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
SarahJames
Posts: 6581

@ Rick - not needed for me anymore. I went back two months and now all is running smooth. Pfewwwwwww ...

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

IMPORTANT!

For those running a system with NO swap file, check your System Event Logs.

You might find that after the Updates, you will get an Event Error in the logs that says something like "unable to create dump file on volu" upon every boot.

This issue will not be apparent as is just in the system logs and doesn't affect the boot process or the running of the machine.

To CURE the issue, setup a System Managed Swap File for the Volume.

Don't know which Update caused this change to have to be made but is OK as Windows creates an absolute minimum 16MB swap file upon reboot and the Event Error in the logs goes away.

I found this to be small issue on (4) installations of Windows 7 which are running 16GBs of memory and SSDs.

Rick P.

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 
Lighthouse
Posts: 13598

I always have System Event Logs, and anything like that disabled.

Posted 2 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.