How-To Geek Forums / Windows Vista

mp4 video editing

(20 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by whs
  • Latest reply from whs
  • Topic Viewed 70184 times

whs
whs

I am looking for a simple, easy to use mp4 video editing program that runs under Vista. Nothing fancy, just basic things like cut and paste. I have a lot of little snips and a hard time putting them together to a longer film. I am an mp4 newbie and would appreciate your suggestions - no need for fancy functions.

Posted 6 years ago

ScottW
ScottW

Now, who was it that said they did video editing work? Was it jack? Anyway, whoever it is will no doubt chime in.

whs, You didn't mention how much you would be willing to spend. Since you are talking about basic function, I would guess you would want to spend as little as possible, and freeware would be nice. The only software that I know of that is cheap, easy, and probably does all you want is QuickTime Pro from Apple for $30.

Microsoft prefers their own WMV format to MPEG-4. Apple was quick to embrace MPEG-4, so this would be a lot easier if you had a system running Mac OS. While it's trivial to playback MPEG-4 video under Windows, there aren't a lot of MPEG-4 editors. Apple uses MPEG-4 video in Quicktime, iTunes, iPods, etc.

Windows comes with Windows Movie Maker, a basic editor for WMV video. Mac OS comes with iLife which includes iMovie for (basic?) editing of QT files, which are now mostly MPEG-4.

Posted 6 years ago

jack7h3r1pp3r
jack7h3r1pp3r

what you could do is use winavi to convert the mp4's to an .avi format then you can just use movie maker. or another good editing software is pinnacle studio not sure on the price though and if you really wanted something nice you can try adobe premiere but thats a bit spendy though

and yes i am a video editor that is what i am going to school for and is my job

Posted 6 years ago

Lighthouse
Lighthouse

@whs. doesn't Cynthia do this sort of stuff?

Posted 6 years ago

whs
whs