How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

Modem/Router Question

(17 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by gregoryshock125
  • Latest reply from Lighthouse
  • Topic Viewed 8444 times

gregoryshock125
gregoryshock125

I'm New to DSL. I noticed there seems to be routers that are not modems. And I've noticed there are Modem that are also routers. My question is do you haft to use to the modem/router that your internet service provider gave you to get online?

Posted 2 years ago

warlock
warlock

No, but it has to be compatabile.

Posted 2 years ago

Xhi
Xhi

It is also up to your provider whether or not they allow it, and may void any particular guaranteed service.

Posted 2 years ago

ispalten
ispalten

Even if your ISP, like mine, REQUIRES you to use their combo modem/router, they will BRIDGE the router part so you can use your own router. Bridging essentially turns the combo modem/router into a modem, turning off the router parts wireless signal, DNS, and NAT functions.

Modem part is probably required, but some may allow you to have your own. Check with your ISP.

Irv S.

Posted 2 years ago

whs
whs

Usually you get a modem from your ISP. To that you can attach your PC with an ethernet cable (no router required). But if you want to have WiFi capability for other PCs in the house, then you need a router. Those you can buy for $40 and up.

There are also routers with integrated modems. I use one of those from netgear. The advantage is that you have only 1 box on the desk and that there are no compatibility problems. But those boxes are a bit more expensive. Mine cost $90.

A third possibility is to use a modem plus an ethernet switch. To the switch you can attach several PCs - but they will have to be all wired with an ethernet cable. A switch costs around $20 and is useful if all PCs in the house are close together (like in the same room).

Posted 2 years ago

gregoryshock125
gregoryshock125