The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

Missing Boot Manager After Installing Windows 7

(4 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by scman
  • Latest reply from vistamike
  • Topic Viewed 2096 times

scman

Hi everyone, I did an upgraded (customs install with format HDD) from Window XP 32bit to Windows 7 64 bit last night and have the following problem

The initial installation went well without any problem. However, when I switched the computer on this morning I found the error message "BOOTMGR is missing, Alt+Ctrl+Delete to restart". Then I switched the boot sequence from HDD to CDRom with the the Windows 7 disc in, the computer starts up normally. I tried the "Repair" function in Windows 7 Installation disc but it found nothing to repair. Can someone please help? I don't want to boot the pc up with the installation disc in every time.

Below is the bcdedit of my pc. By the way, I am a PC novice so I need clear illustration in every step.
Thanks very much for your in advance.

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Windows\system32>bcdedit

Windows Boot Manager
--------------------
identifier {bootmgr}
device partition=\Device\HarddiskVolume8
description Windows Boot Manager
locale en-US
inherit {globalsettings}
default {current}
resumeobject {d61f0b9d-dcb2-11de-9ec7-ba3dcaa4d3d1}
displayorder {current}
toolsdisplayorder {memdiag}
timeout 30

Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier {current}
device partition=C:
path \Windows\system32\winload.exe
description Windows 7
locale en-US
inherit {bootloadersettings}
recoverysequence {d61f0b9f-dcb2-11de-9ec7-ba3dcaa4d3d1}
recoveryenabled Yes
osdevice partition=C:
systemroot \Windows
resumeobject {d61f0b9d-dcb2-11de-9ec7-ba3dcaa4d3d1}
nx OptIn

C:\Windows\system32>

Posted 4 years ago

scman