SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows Vista

Major HELP for an idiot on the computer.......

(20 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by harleychadx
  • Latest reply from G41M
  • Topic Viewed 799 times

harleychadx

I have tried everything I have read and watched on utube and still nothing is working. My brother has gotten that FBI Green Dot virus and I cannot get it off. He has Windows Vista which i've never worked with before. I get into the F8 just fine but when I try to go into safe mode, safe mode with networking, the FBI page still comes up. I've downloaded and burned the recovery CD and put into his computer and nothing. Flash drive, nothing and i've been playing with this for 3 days now. PLEASE, if you have another way, I would be most thankful.

Posted 1 year ago

Xhi

I have resolved this problem on several computers with the Kaspersky rescue disk. Use ImgBurn to make the CD from the .iso file. Boot from it and run it. (Note: the A you must enter is a capital A.). This should clean the computer and make it bootable again.

Posted 1 year ago

G41M

harleychadx, Welcome to HTG. Download/install the latest version and run a scan with MBAM.

Posted 1 year ago

harleychadx

Thank you for responding. This is where the idiot comes in. I stuck the CD in his computer, it went to the same page, so I restarted it and pressed F8 and went to reboot, still the same. Is there something else I should be doing? My grandkids know more of this stuff than i do LOL

Posted 1 year ago

G41M