How-To Geek Forums / Linux

(Solved) - Linux questions..

(6 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by ssoylu1996
  • Latest reply from ssoylu1996
  • Topic Viewed 845 times

ssoylu1996

Hi,

I am a web developer , I want to use linux as my default operating system because I am bored of the Standard Microsoft Windows. As a web developer, I have been researching on how to install adobe photoshop cs5.1 extended on to linux using wine and how to install internet explorer.

I've recently installed lubuntu "wubi.exe". I have tested the OS on what is possible. Following tutorials of how to install adobe photoshop , I've got error's like "error -1" and "error: 1". Then there is internet explorer 9 saying that it is not compatible with the 32/64bit when I have the dll's and fonts intalled through wine.

Copying registrys and program files including app-data files from windows to the wine directories did not make a difference for adobe photoshop cs5.1. Internet Explorer 9 however is different, I've found ways of using virtual box to view my sites on how they display. But this involves me using windows again, I need help in looking on how to make it work on wine. I've made sure that all fonts were installed too.

I have assumed that "lubuntu" is almost the same as "ubuntu" as it is very similarly named and developed a little differently, so i've been searching for ubuntu tutorials as I found it quite hard to find tutorials on lubuntu.

Thanks for reading, I hope I can get help.

Samih.

Posted 1 year ago

edmenje
edmenje