The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

(Solved) - Installing Thunderbird in Win7

(10 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by jactentden
  • Latest reply from jactentden
  • Topic Viewed 1719 times

jactentden

My machine has three separate partitions, XP, Win7 and Data and I'm gradually duplicating programs from XP onto Win7. When I try to run Thunderbird in Win7 I get the message that a copy is already running and I must close it first. I have tried uninstalling and re-installing ThBird without success. I've also deleted all Registry references to ThBird before re-installing - to no avail. I would be grateful for any guidance as to the problem. TIA.

Posted 4 years ago

vistamike
vistamike

Hello and welcome, this is odd as I have been running TB for 5 months on Win7 with no problems, although I do get the still running when I close and reopen in quick succession. That is ok, TB is 'processing' the mail. Try uninstalling with Revouninstaller from in advanced mode and reinstall,
get it HERE

Mike

Posted 4 years ago

jactentden

Thanks for this rapid response Mike. Took your advice, obtained and ran Revouninstaller (advanced mode), reinstalled Th.Bird and still got:-

"Thunderbird is already running, but is not responding. To open a new window, you must first close the existing Thunderbird process, or restart your system."

Ugh! I think my next move will be to install ThB in my third (data) partition and see if it runs from there.

John

Posted 4 years ago

vistamike
vistamike

jactentden, install on c, why are you directing to other partitions? this don't make sense at all because TB runs without problems. you won't see any conflicts between o's, that I can assure you

Accepted Answer · Posted 4 years ago

jactentden

Sorry for the confusion Mike. My problem comes with the installation of TB on C drive (so named under W7, but this drive is named G under XP which I'm using at the moment!).