The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Apple / OS X

i book - hardware and software question

(2 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by 202d
  • Latest reply from 202d
  • Topic Viewed 719 times

202d

Hey. Got a Mac problem and I am new with working on Macs so even simple answers may help. Got an i-book. having a DVD drive problem; whenever i put in a DVD/cd it tries to read it then spits it out. I am suppose to be reformatting the new HDD I put in it for someone. The old HDD had problems and I put it into an enclosure. putting it back in is not an option. i need to format this new drive and the DVD drive just will not cooperate. How can i boot from an external drive (USB DVD) ? Is that possible with MACs? I have the OS X (newest one) installer and the few MACs I have reformatted I just pressed 'C' at start up to boot from drive and the rest was easy. What are my options. Also, I know very little about MACs and would love a list of key commands and stuff like that. If booting from the internal drive is the only option I can switch the internal out for a differnet one IF it is compatiable with any PC drives (I have at least 50 of those laying around) As it is a project to dissassemble I would like to know if it is possible first. [and pardon these spelling errors, Im trying to take my kid to the zoo today before it closes and Im typing crappy]

On a PC at startup, you have the F key options, like most are F8 safe mode, Intel is F2 BIOS F10 boot menu; HP F10 BIOS F9 boot etc....what are the MAC ones? ...and when I replaced the HDD, here is a link to the guide I used. Useful but tedious!
http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Re.....ment/131/1

help. thanks. check back in about two hours

Posted 4 years ago

202d

Ok I think I figured out my own problem (sigh). The answer sucks so if anyone can confirm it...