The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows Vista

(Solved) - how to fix low space on C drive

(24 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by SUZONKA
  • Latest reply from terfdg
  • Topic Viewed 3107 times

SUZONKA

I have IE9 windows vista home basic and a dell 531 inpiron how ever very low space on my C drive ,I read somewhere that you could cut and past programs from one C drive to the D drive to freee it up, now everything is all mixed up ,my system is working how ever I want to gain more disk space on C drive and put things back to normal, my computer works, I know nothing about indexing or changing files, Im a novice yet I pick up pretty good if its not to involved, is there an easy way in my control panel to fix this problem note* I have tried clean disk, nothing .

Posted 2 years ago

ispalten

If you mean free up space via the Control Panel, not really. It takes some 'work' on your part, and some of it could cause some 'data' loss.

Since you have all the free space on D: and you're C: is *only* 10 GB's (which is AWFULLY small) I assume this is a single drive with 2 partitions. Also, you've NOT used it much?

Ah, you are the one that asked about the BLUE lettering on the files ...

So what have you actually DONE here? Did you make your old D: drive C:, and that was the RESTORE DRIVE from Dell? Since your present D: drive is named OS, it would assume so.

So, what did you do and what are you trying to do? I suspect you can't used the D: drive and dragging and dropping isn't going to work either. App have stuff spread all over the drive(s) usually, the actual program, some files in WINDOWS, PROGRAM FILES, PROGRAM DATA, and USER, as well as the Registry. Without getting them all copied over your chances of any program working is 'slim'. Re-install is the best way. Usually because you can't locate all the parts of the program.

Irv S.

Posted 2 years ago

whs