SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

(Solved) - How do I properly image / back up data so I can perform a new OS installation?

(15 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by Designing5
  • Latest reply from Fhirkin9
  • Topic Viewed 338 times

Designing5
Designing5

I will use Macrium Reflect to do it but, I've never done this before and need to know how I can image and back up ALL my data. I need to know how it will be recovered AFTER I perform a clean OS installation of Windows 7.Thanks!

Posted 1 year ago

whs
whs

Both subjects are covered in this tutorial: http://www.sevenforums.com/tut.....html?ltr=I

Posted 1 year ago

Designing5
Designing5

I'm gonna try this. Thank you so much!

Posted 1 year ago

Designing5
Designing5

I want to save the back up to an external HD. Should I clone or image? What's recommended in my case? I don't care about the programs re-installations or settings but I do care about the data (pictures, videos and documents)

Posted 1 year ago

ReadandShare

I regularly image my C:\ drive to my external USB drive, using EaseUS (i.e. system backup). Imaging this way, you can restore your system exactly the way it was at the date and time you performed the backup -- all the data, all the apps and all the settings, etc. at the time you did the imaging.

If all you care about is data -- assuming you wish to reinstall Windows and apps and re-customize settings, etc., then just copy your data to your external drive. You do not need to image (or clone). Remember, restoring from a system image will get you back to where you were -- and that will undo your clean install completely!

Posted 1 year ago

gedstar
gedstar