The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows XP

How do I get a computer out of safemode? Windows XP activation blocked

(14 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by carmengstu
  • Latest reply from warlock
  • Topic Viewed 1363 times

carmengstu

I could not load Norton Constant Guard. I deleted the Norton files. But was still unable to install the Constant Guard. I was instructed to hit the windows button and when the run came up I was to type in misconfig. I did this and it went into safemode and is now stuck. The window page comes up with Administrator and my name. When I click on it it states that my Windows has not been activated properly. I have been using this computer for 4 years. I contacted Microsoft, they asked for my windows number to activate it. Microsoft said that it was blocked and that they do not support that software anymore. It is Windows XP Home Edition with service pack 3. Does anyone know how to get his out of safemode?

Posted 1 year ago

Xhi
Xhi

In safe mode bring up msconfig and make sure that the Safe boot option is unchecked on the boot tab.

Posted 1 year ago

carmengstu

Thanks, but it skips past the safemode screen then goes to the windows screen with the administrator and my name. When I click on either it states that my Windows has not been activated properly. I have been using this computer for 4 years. I contacted Microsoft, they asked for my windows number to activate it. Microsoft said that it was blocked and that they do not support that software anymore. It is Windows XP Home Edition with service pack 3. Does anyone know how to get his out of safemode?

Posted 1 year ago

warlock
warlock

I would try MS. again. http://gethuman.com/phone-numb.....n-Support/

Might get a more sympathetic answer from another rep.

Posted 1 year ago

raphoenix
raphoenix

To my knowledge, MS never produced, authorized or sold an XP-3 Integrated Product.

Where did you get the installation CD and PID from ????