The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

Help please! ASAP!!

(11 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by sesnape123
  • Latest reply from scorpion99
  • Topic Viewed 326 times

sesnape123

My friend wanted to change over the motherboard in his PC because it had an integrated graphics chip. We got the switchover done fine but the problem is that the BIOS is not detecting the Hard drives which were in the previous PC. When i enter the BIOS set-up all it says under 'Boot Sequence' is Hard disk drive (not installed) Please can you help me? i'm stuck and have no idea what to do :(

(For reference the new motherboard belonged to a Dell desktop, also i'm studying IT so don't worry about jargon)

Posted 1 year ago

warlock
warlock

I am probably not going to be of much help. The motherboard may not be compatable with its new system. Post all the information you can. What computer model it came from. What you are putting it in. And, if you can find it motherboard model number. I may not be able to help but, the info may help others to.

Edit: post all the info you can, even if you think it might not be important.

Posted 1 year ago

sesnape123

okay, the model is a Dell dimension 3000 series, it's essentially all the same stuff that was originally in there the only thing that's new is the HDD's. can't find the model number of the motherboard. The HDD's are both 'Maxtor diamond plus 9' and yes, they are both spinning. also : they are both IDE HDD's not SATA's.

My mind turns to drivers but i'm not sure.

Posted 1 year ago

scorpion99
scorpion99

Make sure that Hard Disks connected are one as Master and the other as slave.

Posted 1 year ago

sesnape123

i tried with only one HDD and it still doesn't work so setting one as master and slave probably won't help i'm afraid, the BIOS recognises the HDD but refuses to load it because it is 'Not installed'

Posted 1 year ago

scorpion99
scorpion99