How-To Geek Forums / Windows 8

(Solved) - Help!! PC Settings screen!

(26 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by milti
  • Latest reply from presence1960
  • Topic Viewed 10360 times

milti
milti

Okay, so I'm new to Win 8; it came pre-installed on my new laptop, so I don't know its product key. It is activated.

The problem is that the "Change PC Settings" in the Charms bar won't open. It shows the blue screen with the gear icon for a second and goes right back to the Start screen again.

While customizing the display for myself after I got the computer, these are the things I changed:
-Installed some programs like iTunes, GOM Player, Adobe Reader, Open Office
-Changed PC's name from my dad's name to mine
-Customized Desktop Icons (customized them using .ico files I'd used before in Win 7)
-Desktop wallpaper and other stuff. I didn't change screen resolution. It remains at 1366x768

One Local Account is present, and one Guest account (which I've disabled). The local account is mine and I have Admin privileges. I can't change anything in it; picture, name, not even create another user account through it. Nope.

So I did extensive research on this before I came here, and I looked into the recover, reinstall, refresh options. I haven't tried them yet, because I'm not sure if Refresh will really solve anything.

I have run the sfc/scannow command again and again and it has fond no errors.

I have checked my registry for the possibly-missing key, but the relevant key is there.

I have looked into the hidden folder <C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs> and found the "pc settings.lnk" in it; and also the "PC Settings.exe" in The <Immersive> folder in Windows where it's supposed to be. On some other sites, it was suggested that a missing shortcut of PC Settings might have been at the core of the error, but no.

I haven't done a system restore because I have no recent restore points. :S