The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

Help me bring this dinosaur to life.

(9 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by Dasher
  • Latest reply from raphoenix
  • Topic Viewed 773 times

Dasher

So I've come across an old 1994 Packard Bell Legend 11cd, and I'd like to get it set up to (at least) run MAME. I've run into some troubles. This is my first attempt at anything like this, so I need some help. Here's what I've done so far.

Booted up, and it can't seem to find an operating system. Using a DOS boot floppy I discovered that I can't access either the hard drive or the CD-rom drive.

My question is, how should I go about troubleshooting this hard drive problem? I don't know if its a connection problem, or if the drive has failed.

Posted 6 years ago

raphoenix
raphoenix

Dasher,

WOW !!!!!!!!!

Check the cables.

Go into Bios and reset to defaults.

Put something in CDrom and see if runs.

What size is the drive in megs ??

If you have an old spare HD, put it on the end of cable and see if it runs.

It is (NOT) PS and (NOT) the video.

Post Back.

Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 6 years ago

Dasher

As far as I can tell, the cables seem alright.

When I go into setup, it warns me that the CMOS checksum is invalid, and that it's loading the default values, I've also manually loaded the default values from within setup.

The cd drive tray seems to work right, but I can't find the drive through the DOS disk.

I'm trying to figure out how big the drive is right now, it's entombed in case right now, all i can tell at this point it that it's a seagate and it makes some noise (no noise I'm worried about though)

Unfortunately I don't have an old harddrive

Posted 6 years ago

Dasher

here's more details on the system:
50Mhz 486DX2 Cpu
640kb system ram
3072kb extended ram
384kb shadow ram

Still working on the hd specs

Posted 6 years ago

raphoenix
raphoenix

Dasher,