The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

first build for cad design and gaming

(9 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by boss21784
  • Latest reply from jd2066
  • Topic Viewed 2014 times

boss21784

Hey, I am looking into building a new computer for as much under $1000 I can get. I'm not really into gaming that much, but I do play occasionally and would want a system to support it when I do. But my main need is too support graphics programs such as AutoCAD 3d modeling, MAYA, as well as the Adobe packages. Basic operations should be fine with simple set-ups, but if I get into really complicated renderings that use advance lighting and shadows as well as moving walk throughs of my models, I want a computer that will be able to handle that correctly. Ive been through a multitude of different sites looking at mother boards, and graphics cards but to be honest much of the stuff confuses me.

Currently I'm a student so Im still learning how to even do some of the advanced renderings and such, so i dont really have any bases to go off of, but I do hope to get into it eventually. I'm also low on money and about to graduate and getting stuck with a lot of bills so right now this perfect system might just be a dream. But I'd still like people's advice on the system I currently came up with from tiger direct.

It may be too much for my needs since i really dont game too much, so if you can find cheaper alternatives with similar features, That would be great.