How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

FF add ons for security

(7 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by BobJam
  • Latest reply from JonMCC33
  • Topic Viewed 1408 times

BobJam
BobJam

I've recently switched over my default browser and email reader from IE7 and OE to Firefox 3.03 and Thunderbird 2.0.0.17. So far I'm very satisfied, though I'm still on the learning curve.

I also operate within a sandbox (Sandboxie).

I'm still experimenting with add ons and am particularly interested in security add ons.

I have found that the WOT, NoScript, Flagfox, and Interclue add ons are particularly useful, though those are all FF and not TB security add ons.

Since I'm still new to FF and TB, I'd like to ask what security add ons others are using. I know the Geek is a FF user, and I think Scott is too, and I'm sure there's a lot of others out there.

Thoughts and suggestions?

Posted 5 years ago

Scott
Scott

Bob, the only security addon I use is NoScript. All the rest (24) make my browsing experience a little easier, or more fun. I do use AdBlockPlus though.

Here is the link to addons Mozilla considers for security,
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/browse/type:1/cat:12

I've never used TBird but I know many here do.

Posted 5 years ago

0zSpitt
0zSpitt

adblock plus and trackmenot are a couple of others. no script gets to be a pain after a while but it makes it pretty secure

Posted 5 years ago

Lighthouse
Lighthouse

I was under the impression, that, running a browser "sandboxed", gave 100% protection. Am I wrong?

Posted 5 years ago

BobJam
BobJam

LH,

Well, as far as I'm concerned, YES, running sandboxed is secure, but I don't think you can ever say something is . . . "100%" secure. Sandboxie, though, is probably 99.9% secure. There are those that would argue that malware CAN in fact detect if it's in a sandbox (VM or Software Emulator), and indeed there have been some credible papers done on that.