The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

External hard drives.

(17 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by Roberto1
  • Latest reply from whs
  • Topic Viewed 1990 times

Roberto1

I'm thinking of getting a desktop hard drive to back up my complete system. (Using Dell dimension computer from Jan.2006).
As a novice in this sort of thing I wonder if anyone could comment on whether you get what you pay for when buying a well-known brand, or are you simply paying for the name.
I suppose I really want to know whether there is any good but cheap stuff out there :-)

Posted 6 years ago

english

@Roberto1
I first got a maxtor and it died after 2 months so i changed it for a 500gig western digital my book
and it is spot on, 1000s of pics on it and approx 35 full length films i have used about 150gig up
and i am a novice also so i am pleased with it.

Posted 6 years ago

Lighthouse

My personal preference is Western Digital (never had a failure). But I also (at the moment) use Seagate, Maxtor, and Samsung.
I've not had a failure on any of these (in use for last 20 months).
But locally, I've seen a lot of Maxtor failures. That could be that the local shop bought a bad batch, I don't know.

Posted 6 years ago

english

@Lighthouse
the maxtor that died on me after 2 MONTHS was not a very good advertisement for maxtor.
I have also been told of other maxtors failing my feeling is that they get to hot as the one i had was a sealed unit (no vents on it)
i think that seagate is also a good unit to have.
We all live and learn.

Posted 6 years ago

Lighthouse

Um...well Seagate recently bought Maxtor, so we will have to see what happens there!
And you can always take your external drive apart, and then drill (strategically placed) holes in the case, to improve airflow. (and even fit a small fan if you think it necessary).

Posted 6 years ago

english