The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Microsoft Office

Excell 2010 Auto naming sheets

(7 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by nrsanders09
  • Latest reply from nosparks
  • Topic Viewed 661 times

nrsanders09

im new to this whole macro thing in excell. im trying to generate about 6 different projects with 40-50 sheets in each one and im trying to be able to automatcally change the name for each sheet so i dont have to click every single one of them. its for an appartment building which x amount of rooms in them and need to change each sheet to that room number. anyone have any idea how to do this? thanks in advance for this

Posted 2 years ago

nrsanders09

also wondering how to change a number in a cell in the sheet so it automatically does it for every sheet in each project so i can make this go by a lot faster then clicking and changing everyone of them. thanks again in advance

Posted 2 years ago

Enthusiast

Need more information before proceeding. How do you want the sheets renamed? Do you just want to start renaming at 1 and go up for each one that exists? Base the new sheet name on a cell in the actual sheet?

Can you provide an example?

Posted 2 years ago

nrsanders09

i need the sheet names to start as rm 100 and go up to rm 147 then the next set go from rm 200 to rm 347 automatically and the same thing as the sheet names have a cell that says what room it is to change with every sheet so i dont have to physically put them in for every one of them. ill try getting you an example of it for you

Posted 2 years ago

nrsanders09

column a column b column c column d

Barracks : HP 513 Room: 300
INVENTORY
Nomenclature Qty Required Servicable Un-Servicable
Blinds 1
Carpet 1
Chair 2
Curtain 2
Desk Lamp 1
Floor Lamp 1
Mattress 2
Microwave 1
Rack 2
Refridgerator 1
Night Stand 2
Secretary 2
Window Block 1

NOTES:

with RM (whatever it is) as the name of the sheet