SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows Vista

(Solved) - desktop icons

(17 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by 0zSpitt
  • Latest reply from 0zSpitt
  • Topic Viewed 1939 times

0zSpitt
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

is it possible to completely remove the titles to desktop icons?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

Yep. Rename the icon with Alt + 255
For the next icon it's Alt + 255 Alt + 255
and so on

Accepted Answer · Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
nikhil2761115
nikhil2761115
Posts: 50

its <space>alt+255

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

You must use the numeric keypad to input the 255.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

You don't need the Space

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
nikhil2761115
nikhil2761115
Posts: 50

but i used the keys which r below function keys... and it worked...

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
nikhil2761115
nikhil2761115
Posts: 50

same thing. it makes a space itself if u use numeric keys...

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

Oh ok .

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
0zSpitt
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

excellent, thanks. doing this along with vista shortcut manager really cleans up the icons.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

Do you want to get rid of the icons too ?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
0zSpitt
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

how about hiding them and using a double click on the desktop to make them reappear, instead of right clicking and unchecking "show desktop icons" everytime

or a hotkey type set-up

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

Um...I prefer it like this,

Will bear your request in mind :)

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
vistamike
vistamike
Posts: 10945

Stardock Fences springs to mind, I think there was an article recently on the forum. It's still free.

Mike

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
0zSpitt
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

i used fences but this is for an old dell that can't even run rocketdock. now she wants her desktop to work/look like mine. i was trying not to add too many programs.
LH, i don't know what that is

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

Just showing that I prefer text to icons :)

How about putting those programs into the context menu. It would then just be 1 right, and 1 left click to open them.
No icons on the desktop at all !

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
0zSpitt
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

knowing her for several years now i can tell you she does better with pictures than she would with all them words and motions, lol.
the hiding then part was for myself, the only thing i have on my desktop is rainmeter and my taskbar autohides.
o.k., i'm done keeping you from the important issues, thanks again my friends...

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
0zSpitt
0zSpitt
Posts: 1037

i just had to make 1 more post so i would 1000 :P

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

Enter Your Email Here to Get Access for Free:

Go check your email!