The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

cronic unwanted restart/reboot

(4 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by Rue
  • Latest reply from Rue
  • Topic Viewed 1037 times

Rue

Okay here it is - a friend of mine has a pc running windows 98 (I think/thats what he told me at least), it was a build your own done by a friend of his. Yes, I know thats where the problem(s) start. Well a few weeks ago, it started "rebooting" about every half hour or so - unwanted restarts. I'm new to this so I'm asking questions. Something tells me its either the OS or a driver that has an issue. This mod was build only for gaming. I'd like to avoid having to re-install Windows on it because I don't think he has the disks any more and it might be too old for Windows XP. Any suggestions on where to begin and/or fixes are greatly appreciated. I'll have him make sure all the cables are firmly pulled in and in the right places. Thank you so very much.

Rue

Posted 5 years ago

JadeEmperor
JadeEmperor

hi, i would start first with malwares. does your friend have any anti malware installed? if not, go to online scanners like Kaspersky.

then we'll take it from there.

Posted 5 years ago

raphoenix
raphoenix

Rue,
Welcome to The HTG Forums.
What makes you think it is a software issue instead of PSU, Heat Build-up or faulty memory module problem ????
Obviously the hardware components are old.
Kindest Regards,
Rick P.♦:)

Posted 5 years ago

Rue