How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

Comments/Criticism on my build, please?

(12 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by backslashhug
  • Latest reply from raphoenix
  • Topic Viewed 584 times

backslashhug

Build

This is a build I have been working on for a while and I would like some comments on it, good or bad, before i dump $1,000+ into it.

Thanks in advance.

Posted 2 years ago

Marksheet

backslashhug,

Looks Good... Though I'm not experienced on this topic. I have a Pentium 4 HT, 1.2 GB RAM, no GPU and 500 GB HDD (So, whenever I see a superior build, I think it's good).. In my opinion it's a good build, there are many geeks who will give you more precise reviews and advices...

However, I suggest you to go for a normal SATA hard drive instead of a SSD. They cost less and give you much more storage. And try and look up to some cooling solutions for your CPU, a standard heatsink will probably not enough. Though your case will provide additional cooling, You can invest more in the heatsink...

Posted 2 years ago

backslashhug

Oh, my other hard drive wasn't in the list for some reason. I'm using the ssd as a boot drive and an addition mechanical hard drive for storage. It should be updated now. Thanks for pointing that out. I will also look into an aftermarket cooler, thanks.

Posted 2 years ago

minigeek

I'm assuming you know this, but the "OEM" CD Drive and "Bare Drive" HDD won't include any sata cables - you will need to have some around or order some.

While you had most likely already noticed this, these small things can stop you from completing a build on the day you build. For example, I accidentally used a CD drive, and tried to use a Windows 7 DVD. Annoying...

MiniGeek

Posted 2 years ago

backslashhug

Thanks for that, i was unaware. This is my first real build and little things of information like that are very important to know. Any idea how many I will need?

Posted 2 years ago

minigeek