SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows Vista

card reader and usb for digital camera not working!

(5 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by rockwell99
  • Latest reply from scorpion99
  • Topic Viewed 839 times

rockwell99

I am trying to import pictures from my fujifilm camera to my computer - its windows vista and to be fair isn't exactly new! Its second or third hand and I have very little computer experience that enables me to figure out this problem! I have been down a number of different avenues and followed advice online but to no avail. Basically when I plug my usb from camera to computer I expect autoplay to kick in but it doesn't. I have tried going through computer and seeing if I can click on the removable disks to start it but it says 'please insert a disk...' I then tried to put the card into the card reader but again no prompts to import the photo's. When clicking on removable disks its not doing anything - it goes to load but freezes until you remove the card when it will say 'please insert a disk...' I'm at a loss! I tried going through a program thaat was already set up and importing that way but the same thing happened - it froze until the card was removed. When the usb is plugged in it said no device found. I have even found advice to go through the registry (or something like that?) And followed instructions but my computer didn't even have the right files to open! Please help?! I want to fix it without having to get someone to look at it and cost a fortune! I have pictures of my newborn that I want to share with the world!! Many thanks Courtnay :) x

Posted 1 year ago

Xhi

Have you tried it on a different computer. If it works there you have a computer problem. If it does not then you have a camera/disk problem.

Posted 1 year ago

whs

Try with Paint (Start > All Programs > Accessories > Paint). You have to first click on the little blue box top left.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Posted 1 year ago