Bad Bios checksum (How to Fix it) ???

(39 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by tech27
  • Latest reply from G41M
  • Topic Viewed 20879 times

tech27
tech27

So here's my problem guys...
Recently I did a clean install of windows XP on my PC, everything goes smooth and no errors. But after a day I use it and shut it down for an hour and when I return and turn my PC again this problem comes out... I have no idea why it happened, so if anyone knows how to fix this I will gladly appreciate it... Btw.. I have some experienced on PC troubleshooting but sad to say it is my first time to encounter this problem and I have no idea how to fix it.. So please I really need your help guys....

Posted 2 years ago

Sarris
Sarris

Causes of CMOS Checksum Bad Error

There are usually three main reasons that a CMOS Checksum Bad Error occurs. They include:

1. CMOS Battery may not be functioning properly. The battery life may have expired. (it's probably this)
2. The user or a virus may have updated the BIOS.
3. The computer may not have been shut down properly e.g. shutting off the computer’s main power without first shutting down the computer (MS Windows requires the computer to be shut down before the power is shut off).

This is from tech-faq.com

Also, please don't multiple post the same question. Thanks & good luck

Posted 2 years ago

tech27
tech27

First of all... Sorry for doing multiple post but I didn't meant to do that because every time I post it says "404 Not found"

hmmm... so what should I do first to solve this problem ????

Posted 2 years ago

tech27
tech27

BTW.. what does CMOS means ??? Sorry I had never encounter a bios problem before.....

Posted 2 years ago

semiretired
semiretired

Cmos equals continuous metal oxide semiconductor. It is the small disk battery found on your motherboard. It is usually a cr2032 that can be purchased at a walmart......etc. In a laptop, it could be sheathed in a holder of some type and be more expensive.

Posted 2 years ago