SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

(Solved) - Application to automatically backup your flash drive when it is inserted?

(12 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by mindstormer
  • Latest reply from gedstar
  • Topic Viewed 3025 times

mindstormer

I'm a college student and more than once my flash drive has failed me. I need an application that automatically backups your flash drive when it is inserted. In terms of shareware, the best ones seem to be GoodSync and Allway Sync. I really prefer one that is free and that doesn't limit the number of tasks/files I am doing.

Thanks.

How do you guys deal with the risk of your flash drive failing? I really don't want to manually copy my files every time I have to use my flash drive.

P.S. Cloud storage such as SugarSync and Dropbox sacrifices your privacy, bandwidth (would be fine if they allowed you to control the rate of uploading), and reliability (your account may be compromised, the company may fail, you may not have internet, etc.)

Thanks once again.

Posted 1 year ago

warlock

For me my flashdrive contents are on my computer, and an external harddrive besides the flashdrive.

Posted 1 year ago

Xhi

3 Ways to Automatically Backup Your Flash Drive

Then, of course there is the simple two line Batch file which can be placed in the autorun.inf file on the root of the drive so that it would run a simple .bat file whenever you plug in your drive. The .bat file would be something like:

xcopy *.* C:\flashdrive1 /a (/a only copies files with the archive bit set, ie. those that have changed.)
attrib -a /s (resets the archive bit. It is set when changes are made to a file.)

Posted 1 year ago

mindstormer