SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows 7

AppData problem

(17 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by KillerWaLrUs
  • Latest reply from raphoenix
  • Topic Viewed 1549 times

KillerWaLrUs
Posts: 4

I'm currently having a problem installing programs onto my computer. Just a few weeks ago, I did a fresh install of Windows 7 Ultimate onto a brand new hard drive and its been running fine, but when I try to install any program, I run into an error saying it can't locate the AppData or the Application Data. I was able to resolve one issue around an HP printer where I had to modify the registry slightly, but I was able to find a solution on that. I would like to be able to resolve this issue without having to dive into the registry everytime I need to install something. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
mickeyblue
mickeyblue
Posts: 1521

have you tried searching for the Appdata folder in win7?

usually C:\Users\User\AppData

sometimes its hidden, so show all folders, if its not there or anywhere, i wonder if not manually creating this folder in the directory will not help?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
KillerWaLrUs
Posts: 4

When I search for that folder, nothing comes up and I've pulled up all of the hidden files. I could always manually create it, but I'm not 100% sure where I would go to create it.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Are you running as Administrator? Do you 'own' the USERS\'your username' folder?

Try using the COMMAND PROMPT. Enter 'CD \', then CD USERS, then DIR, post results here.

It should look something like this :

==================
C:\Users\Irv>cd \

C:\>cd users

C:\Users>dir
Volume in drive C is OS
Volume Serial Number is 1C5C-DD5E

Directory of C:\Users

10/29/2009 02:41 PM <DIR> .
10/29/2009 02:41 PM <DIR> ..
10/29/2009 02:40 PM <DIR> Administrator
12/12/2009 12:03 PM <DIR> AppData
01/21/2010 12:05 PM <DIR> Irv
12/12/2009 12:14 PM <DIR> Public
11/22/2009 11:47 PM <DIR> RA Media Server
0 File(s) 0 bytes
7 Dir(s) 92,529,504,256 bytes free

C:\Users>
====================

My userID is IRV in this case. Now CD 'your userID' and post the DIR

It will look like this

=========================
C:\Users>cd irv

C:\Users\Irv>dir
Volume in drive C is OS
Volume Serial Number is 1C5C-DD5E

Directory of C:\Users\Irv

01/21/2010 12:05 PM <DIR> .
01/21/2010 12:05 PM <DIR> ..
10/29/2009 02:40 PM <DIR> .gegl-0.0
01/19/2010 10:57 AM <DIR> .gimp-2.6
01/19/2010 10:57 AM 1,459 .recently-used.xbel
06/15/2009 06:22 AM 1,024 .rnd
10/29/2009 02:40 PM <DIR> .thumbnails
11/03/2009 10:07 AM <DIR> 10DaysUnderTheSea
01/20/2010 09:24 PM 585 clean_systray.bat
10/29/2009 03:13 PM <DIR> Contacts
12/12/2009 12:16 PM <DIR> CyberLink
02/01/2010 06:28 PM <DIR> Desktop
05/19/2009 06:00 AM 187 DisableNumLock.reg
01/31/2010 06:34 PM <DIR> Documents
10/29/2009 03:13 PM <DIR> Downloads
10/29/2009 02:41 PM <DIR> eee
11/25/2009 11:14 AM <DIR> Favorites
01/21/2010 12:05 PM 61,224 GoToAssistDownloadHelper.exe
10/29/2009 03:13 PM <DIR> Links
01/17/2010 08:46 PM <DIR> Logitech
10/29/2009 02:41 PM <DIR> Mushroom Age
10/29/2009 03:13 PM <DIR> Music
05/08/2009 04:56 PM <DIR> My Backup Files
07/04/2009 11:34 AM <DIR> My Games
10/30/2009 07:26 PM <DIR> Pictures
01/25/2010 08:13 PM <DIR> Saved Games
10/29/2009 03:13 PM <DIR> Searches
05/12/2009 07:51 AM 0 Sti_Trace.log
12/12/2009 12:35 PM 4,256,670 TEMP_PRJ.TMP
01/22/2010 05:32 PM <DIR> Tracing
01/31/2010 06:29 PM <DIR> Videos
7 File(s) 4,321,149 bytes
24 Dir(s) 92,529,180,672 bytes free

C:\Users\Irv>
==================================

As you can see, it doesn't show. However, adding the /a:sh to show system and hidden files, you'll see it (or should) :

=============================
C:\Users\Irv>dir /a:sh
Volume in drive C is OS
Volume Serial Number is 1C5C-DD5E

Directory of C:\Users\Irv

10/29/2009 02:29 PM <JUNCTION> Application Data [C:\Users\Irv\AppData\Ro
aming]
10/29/2009 02:29 PM <JUNCTION> Cookies [C:\Users\Irv\AppData\Roaming\Mic
rosoft\Windows\Cookies]
10/29/2009 02:29 PM <JUNCTION> Local Settings [C:\Users\Irv\AppData\Loca
l]
10/29/2009 02:29 PM <JUNCTION> My Documents [C:\Users\Irv\Documents]
10/29/2009 02:29 PM <JUNCTION> NetHood [C:\Users\Irv\AppData\Roaming\Mic
rosoft\Windows\Network Shortcuts]
02/02/2010 03:14 PM 5,242,880 NTUSER.DAT
02/02/2010 03:14 PM 262,144 ntuser.dat.LOG1
10/29/2009 02:29 PM 0 ntuser.dat.LOG2
10/29/2009 02:29 PM 65,536 NTUSER.DAT{016888bd-6c6f-11de-8d1d-001e0b
cde3ec}.TM.blf
10/29/2009 02:29 PM 524,288 NTUSER.DAT{016888bd-6c6f-11de-8d1d-001e0b
cde3ec}.TMContainer00000000000000000001.regtrans-ms
10/29/2009 02:29 PM 524,288 NTUSER.DAT{016888bd-6c6f-11de-8d1d-001e0b
cde3ec}.TMContainer00000000000000000002.regtrans-ms
10/29/2009 03:13 PM 20 ntuser.ini
10/29/2009 02:29 PM <JUNCTION> PrintHood [C:\Users\Irv\AppData\Roaming\M
icrosoft\Windows\Printer Shortcuts]
10/29/2009 02:29 PM <JUNCTION> Recent [C:\Users\Irv\AppData\Roaming\Micr
osoft\Windows\Recent]
10/29/2009 02:29 PM <JUNCTION> SendTo [C:\Users\Irv\AppData\Roaming\Micr
osoft\Windows\SendTo]
10/29/2009 02:29 PM <JUNCTION> Start Menu [C:\Users\Irv\AppData\Roaming\
Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu]
10/29/2009 02:29 PM <JUNCTION> Templates [C:\Users\Irv\AppData\Roaming\M
icrosoft\Windows\Templates]
7 File(s) 6,619,156 bytes
10 Dir(s) 92,528,295,936 bytes free

C:\Users\Irv>
========================

You should see the same stuff from the commands. If not, you lost junctions.

What APPDATE is is a JUNCTION. It is possible your JUNCTION's got wiped out? I have a JUNCTION program somewhere, but can't find it now? I think the MKLINK command will create one though, not sure.

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
KillerWaLrUs
Posts: 4

To Irv S: I'll try your suggestion out and see what comes up. I'll post what I find and if the junction is missing, I'll try the mklink command to try and create one. Again, thank you for your advice.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
ispalten
Posts: 6259

I'm not 100% MKLINK really makes a junction just like the original, but it might. In any case, I've used SYSINTERNALS JUNCTION utility to make some that I needed.

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

WHICH brings up a good point I have "harped" about continuously.
---
Where is the Resource and Tool Kit for Win 7 ????
---
Have I missed something here ????
---
Will be installing the AIK tonight which contains a few tools but don't know where the Win7 Resource Kit is.
---
EDIT: I have the Resource Kit Manual but haven't completed it yet [ (3) Inches Thick ]
The CD may have some of the tools on it so will check that out tonight.
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
KillerWaLrUs
Posts: 4

I was able to pull up all of the same stuff as Irv did, so it doesn't look like its a junction issue.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

KillerWaLrUs,
---
You may be intrested in making some tools.
See my last post on page 6.
http://www.howtogeek.com/forum.....eplies=106
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

KillerWaLrUs,
---
ADDED:
---
The command is C:\>mklink /H link.txt target.txt [ AS AN EXAMPLE ].
---
Can only link Files and NOT folders.
---
Win 7 and Vista are still compatible with [ fsutil hardlink ] command.
http://technet.microsoft.com/e.....y/cc772390(WS.10).aspx
---
Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Rick, while the /H is only for files, /J is for junctions to folders.

===========================
C:\Users\Irv>mklink /?
Creates a symbolic link.

MKLINK [[/D] | [/H] | [/J]] Link Target

/D Creates a directory symbolic link. Default is a file
symbolic link.
/H Creates a hard link instead of a symbolic link.
/J Creates a Directory Junction.
Link specifies the new symbolic link name.
Target specifies the path (relative or absolute) that the new link
refers to.

C:\Users\Irv>
=====================

However, the OP says he has the junctions... not sure what his problem is other than possibly a permissions problem or the install needs to be run as administrator?

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Irv,
---
Yeah, I thought he said he had a Junction so that's why I just sited the /H switch.
---
My solution would be to Clean Install the system.
---
Have experimented so much during the past week, will probably Dual Clean Install my systems again tomorrow.
---
I've got images so won't take long plus the weather is bad. :) :)
---
Best Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Rick, If he has the junctions then the problem has to be permissions? Some stuff required you to take ownership even if you run as administrator. Even then, depending on UAC setting, so things must be run at an elevated level as well? I've had a problem at least once where an install didn't work, that is it installed it thought ok, but it couldn't overwrite a file. Had to elevate the install and it worked fine. The install never reported it had a problem though. Another time was one when it had to remove the old version first. Even though I had elevated the process, it failed? Why, because the elevated process ran the install, figured it was already there and then ran the uninstall, however, the uninstall when it restarted the install, it wasn't elevated. Once I changed the install properties to always run as administrator, it worked.

I guess turning off UAC during the install might have worked as well?

BTW, you say you have an image? Unless it was as the system was shipped to you, I wouldn't consider that 'clean'?

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
LH
LH
Posts: 20002

What is the make and model of the computer ?

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Irv,
---
You'll have to stay with us for a while to understand how I run my systems. Most already know. (LOL)
---
I'll WIPE the drive first, Setup of the drive geometry, do a Perfect Clean Install with updates plus other software, Configure the System in Built-in Administrator Mode and then back up a compressed Image using Ghost to a store on another drive OR make a deployment image.
---
I always run as Built-in Administrator so NEVER have UAC or elevated permissions problem PLUS have made all the necessary tools to fix almost anything. I Believe in Low Level Utilities. :) :)
---
Ask LH, he knows how I run my machines; "Wide Open" and NEVER have problem or glitches. ;)
---
Don't use anything but Home Built Custom Machines either with many, many options. :) :)
---
Like you, it comes from 40 years of experience with this "stuff"
plus a complete library now of manuals. (LOL) (LOL) (LOL)
---
Best Regards and would love to have Your E-mail Address so we could correspond about technical issues.
---
Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
ispalten
ispalten
Posts: 6259

Check personal message and your e-mail from your website.

Irv S.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 
raphoenix
raphoenix
Posts: 14920

Got it !!!
---
Check my reply to your E-mail. :) ;)
---
Best Regards,
Rick P.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.