The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Geek Stuff

Any Guitarist Visit Our Forum?

(22 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by mysticgeek
  • Latest reply from pipo
  • Topic Viewed 1853 times

mysticgeek

I am curious to know if any of our visitors are guitarists or musicians of any type that use home recording software.
I am thinking of starting a lot of articles related to home recording and am just wanted to get a feel from you guys as to what you think of such an idea!?!?! Thanks guys!

Posted 6 years ago

pipo
pipo

i'm not exactly a musician, but i know how to play the guitar. i've always wanted to try some recording, music editing or music production software. so i vote yes.

Posted 6 years ago

bomonganni
bomonganni

I am a practicing and recording guitarist and have been playing for 20 years. I have recorded in several studios across the southeast, and once computer recording became practical, I embraced it fully. I have recorded several projects in my home studio, and I can honestly say that the work done there blew away all of the work done in "pro" studios....I would love reading articles on the subject, as most of what I learned came from such articles, and of course lots of hands on practice. What i would be interested in is home recording as how it relates to Vista, as I learned that the way Vista handles audio is much different than XP. In fact most (if not all) of the software and hardware that I used is not compatible with Vista, and from what I've read not much is.

Posted 6 years ago

mysticgeek

@bomonganni Right now I am actually setting up my gear on a Vista machine. I have also read that Vista handles audio different as far as recording live. I would love to hear some of your stuff if you have it posted anywhere.