How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

$2500 to spend building a PC

(27 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by kylonewton
  • Latest reply from kylonewton
  • Topic Viewed 1572 times

kylonewton

Hey everyone,

I've come to that time when I need a new computer. I have a budget of $2500 give or take, I'd prefer to keep it under this amount but if there's major advantages of spending more I can go slightly higher. I'm a bit of a noob but I've been reading about everything a lot for the past few months and I believe I'd be perfectly capable of building my own, it's just a matter of what parts I should pick. My main purpose for the computer will be college work, I'll be using programs such as Autodesk Autocad Civil 3D and I'd like to be able to open and close applications like this at speed. I'm not much of a gamer but I do enjoy games such as Modern Warfare or Black Ops from time to time. The only part I have picked at the moment is the Cooler Master Haf X case. I've read a lot of good stuff about it and will probably go with it. So basically I'm just asking would anyone be able to recommend a motherboard, RAM, SSD, cooling system, optical drive, power supply, CPU, monitor, keyboard and mouse. Also I'll probably build the computer now and wait for Windows 8 to come out before I buy an operating system. Any help would be much appreciated.

Posted 1 year ago

kylonewton

Also forgot to mention I'm in Ireland and prices are slightly higher here than they are in USA :(

Posted 1 year ago

ispalten
ispalten

A good place to start and read is MAXIMUMPC. They do this regularly spec out everything and also have steps to do it. See this FOR INSTANCE ON A $2,000 USD machine. Here is an IVY BRIDGE that comes in a little less in cost.

I don't build anymore, but if I did, I'd at least look at what they build and 'tweak' as needed.