The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Build Your Own PC

1st Computer Build

(8 posts)
  • Started 1 year ago by FactionZer0
  • Latest reply from raphoenix
  • Topic Viewed 738 times

FactionZer0

Alright so it's come to that time where I'm going to build a new computer mainly for gaming. I gave myself a $1,000 budget and came to about $850. I'm not an expert on computer building, so I just would like to know if the parts I chose are compatible and if not, could somebody critique it?

Also, this desktop will be wireless and I think the motherboard supports that, if not please note.

Processor: AMD FD6100WMGUSBX FX-6100 Processor - Six Core, 8MB L3 Cache, 6MB L2 Cache, 3.30GHz (3.90GHz Max Turbo), Socket AM3+, 95W, Fan, Unlocked

Motherboard: ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AM3+ Motherboard - ATX, Socket AM3+, AMD 990X Chipset, 2133MHz DDR3 (O.C.), SATA 6.0 Gb/s, RAID, 8-CH Audio, Gigabit LAN, USB 3.0, CrossFireX/SLI Ready

Hard Drive: Western Digital WD5000AAKX Caviar Blue Hard Drive - 500GB, 3.5", SATA 6Gbps, 7200RPM, 16MB

RAM: Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A2133C11B 8GB Memory Module Kit - DDR3, 4GB x 2, 2133MHz, CL11, DIMM, XMP Ready

Video Card(I'm looking at two different ones):
1: MSI R7770-2PMD1GD5/OC Radeon HD 7770 Video Card - 1024MB, GDDR5, PCI-Express 3.0 (x16), 1x DVI, 2x Mini DisplayPort, 1x HDMI, DirectX 11, Dual-Slot, CrossFireX Ready, Eyefinity, Overclocked

2: EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti 01G-P3-1556-KR Video Card - 1GB, GDDR5, PCI-Express 2.0(x16), 2x Dual-Link DVI-I, 1x Mini-HDMI, DirectX 11, Dual-Slot, SLI Ready

Casing: Thermaltake VN300M1W2N Chaser MK-I Full Tower Gaming Case - ATX, Micro ATX, 4x Ext 5.25", 6x Int 3.5", 2x 200mm Fans, 1x 140mm Fan, 2x USB 3.0 Ports, 2x USB 2.o Ports, 1x eSATA Port, Colorshift Fans

Cooling Fan: Corsair CWCH80 Hydro H80 CPU Liquid Cooler - 120mm Fan, LGA775, LGA1155, LGA1156, LGA1366, LGA 2011, AM2, AM3