SEARCH

The How-To Geek Forums Have Migrated to Discourse

How-To Geek Forums / Windows Vista

169 ip address

(12 posts)
  • Started 5 years ago by blue78
  • Latest reply from abhishek02
  • Topic Viewed 41856 times

blue78
Posts: 7

just lately every time I try to connect to the internet I end up with an 169.xxx.xxx.xxx ip address with both wirless and wired. My other computers can still connect to the internet via the same router.

So far i've looked into the router settings and I can see the computer listed there with the correct ip (192.xxx.xxx.xxx)address I've tried ipconfig/renew etc. and a few other ideas from looking around on the internet but no luck so far.. I hope someone out there as some ideas plz

Posted 5 years ago
Top
 
jd2066
jd2066
Posts: 3814

The 169.xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx IP address is used when Windows is configured to use DHCP and it cannot find a DHCP server to get an IP Address from.
There are many causes for this but the most likely I've found is the network is not active because for instance the network cable is not connected between the computer or for wireless the signal strength is not good.
When you connect a network cable do you see the led on the router light up? Also how far is the laptop away from the router?

Posted 5 years ago
Top
 
blue78
Posts: 7

when i try with the cable yes the led on the router does light up and when i try wireless i'm only the other side of the same room

Posted 5 years ago
Top
 
jd2066
jd2066
Posts: 3814

I will need more information to help you then.
1. What is the manufactour and model number of the router?
2. What is the manufactour and model number of the computer?

Posted 5 years ago
Top
 
blue78
Posts: 7

router is a dlink dir-635 and the laptop is a Toshiba satellite P200-17C I don't think the problem is with the router since I have the same problem when I tried to connect to an other router I have. This started just after I installed IE 8, I have since uninstalled this just in case that was the cause of the problem.

thanks you trying to help with this.. I off to bed now since it's 2:00am here i'll check back in the morning cheers

Posted 5 years ago
Top
 
blue78
Posts: 7

bump

Posted 5 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
ScottW
Posts: 6609

blue78, you could use a static IP address, at least until the problem is solved. Meanwhile, post the output of "ipconfig /all" and we can take a look at it.

Posted 5 years ago
Top
 
blue78
Posts: 7

I sorry it's taken so long for me to replay took some time for me find a flash drive to copy the output from ipconfix/all over to my other computer since even using a static ip address didn't work.

I hope this helps

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Steven Gibbs>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : StevenGibbs-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Con
nection
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-77-94-3E-75
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::85f2:2031:3e3d:3012%10(Preferred)
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.48.18(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-38-19-20-74
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{70D807BF-6081-4009-AE5F-1FE1AF01F
08F}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{E113DB19-5B42-4EF7-AFA3-3A907AB2C
2F2}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Steven Gibbs>

Posted 5 years ago
Top
 
blue78
Posts: 7

oh forgot to say I have a WHS and I did a pc restore from this which worked for about two days then when I next switched my computer back on same problem again !!!

I hope we can fix this soon

Posted 5 years ago
Top
 
blue78
Posts: 7

bump

Posted 5 years ago
Top
 
ScottW
ScottW
Posts: 6609

blue78, so you have a Windows Home Server on your network, eh? Is that system running a DHCP Server? Maybe it is conflicting with the router's DHCP?

Posted 5 years ago
Top
 
abhishek02
Posts: 3

if one of your system is working with the same router, and other systen is giving 169 ip... if u have tried all basic troubleshooting then that means... their is a problem with the NID (network interface device) of the sytem .. thats why it is not able to communicate with the router.
you can go to device manager, under network adapters if u see any yellow exclamation mark, then right click on it.. select update driver.

if you do not see any yellow exclamation mark under network adapters. then contact your system vendor.

Posted 4 years ago
Top
 



Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.