SEARCH

How-To Geek

Google+ Enabled Comment Locking and Share Disabling Before Publishing

Prior to this update Google+ allowed you to lock a comment to prevent sharing and turn off comments, but only after you’d published it. Now you can do it from the start.

Rather than put your comments in the wild and then lock down the sharing and commenting elements, you can now toggle those settings before you publish the post. Watch the above video to see it in action.

[via Mashable]

Jason Fitzpatrick is warranty-voiding DIYer and all around geek. When he's not documenting mods and hacks he's doing his best to make sure a generation of college students graduate knowing they should put their pants on one leg at a time and go on to greatness, just like Bruce Dickinson. You can follow him on if you'd like.

  • Published 10/5/11

Comments (3)

  1. TG2

    you don’t *REALLY* want to know what people think of Google+

    You’ve still the Real name vs Pseudonym issue
    Killing current user content in “other” google apps rather than allowing users to keep other items separate or allowing the user to merge and keep their other content as is (ie. picasaweb under pseudonym, but not after getting GGL+)
    Name Tagging issue (though partly related to sharing issue above)

    This sharing issue just goes to show how stupid google can be.. who in their right mind would have thought it was ok to setup share permissions *AFTER* you’d already shared something?

    Google, how much more wrong can become?

  2. Emily

    Couldn’t someone do a print screen, or even take a picture with a phone and “repost” said locked post in other ways? Locks just keep honest people honest.

    Although… I suppose if I want to keep something of “adult” nature away from persons who may be offended, it might be handy. Hmmmmm.

  3. Charles

    TG2: I wouldn’t insult Google Plus. They are coming around much faster than facebook did, and they’re doing a darn good job too.

Enter Your Email Here to Get Access for Free:

Go check your email!