SEARCH

How-To Geek

From the Tips Box: Grease Monkey in Chrome, What to Read Next, and Auto-Connect Your VPN in OS X

Tips-How-To-Geek-Template

Once a week we dig into the tips box and share some great reader tips. This week we’re looking at how to use Grease Monkey scripts in Chrome after recent security changes, book suggestion web sites, and keeping your VPN connected in OS X.

How To Enable Non-Chrome-Store Scripts in Chrome2012-08-16_153221

Lin writes in with the following tip:

I’m sure some other readers have noticed the recent change in Google Chrome: you can no longer quickly add user scripts from script repositories like UserScripts.org. If you click on the script you’ll get the error “Extensions, apps, and user scripts can only be added from the Chrome Web Store.” While I applaud Google for doing the right thing, security wise, it took me a minute or two to figure my way around it. The new way to load scripts is to save them to your computer and then drag and drop them onto the Extensions menu. Google provides the following instructions to do so:

  1. Download the extension file from the website and save it to your computer.
  2. Click the wrench icon on the browser toolbar.
  3. Select Tools > Extensions.
  4. Locate the extension file on your computer and drag the file onto the Extensions page.
  5. Review the list of permissions in the dialog that appears. If you would like to proceed, click Install.

It’s not quite as convenient as clicking “Install” on UserScripts.org, but it is way more secure.

Thanks for the tip, Lin. You certainly have to go digging for the work-around so you’ve saved more than a few readers a hassle or two.

What Should I Read Next Suggests New Books

2012-08-16_154546

Genieve writes in with the following book-centric tip:

I saw your post about YourNextRead and thought I would suggest another book recommendation engine. I’ve been using “What Should I Read Next?” with a lot of success. It doesn’t have quite the fancy-pants interface of YourNextRead but it has solid recommendations.

Thanks, Genieve—we’re always on the look out for new places to find fresh books!

VPN AutoConnect Keeps Your VPN Connection Linked

2012-08-16_154635

Frank writes in with the following VPN/Mac tip:

I pay good money for a nice VPN connection and I hate it when it disconnections and doesn’t link back up properly. I found a pretty good work around with VPN Autoconnect, a $0.99 Mac Store app, that keeps the connection perpetually on and automatically relinks it if it drops. It’s a one trick pony, but it does the trick I need it to do perfectly.

Thanks for writing in Frank; losing your secure connection can be frustrating, this looks like a cheap and simple band-aid.


Have a tip to share? Shoot us an email at tips@howtogeek.com and look for your tip on the front page!

Jason Fitzpatrick is warranty-voiding DIYer and all around geek. When he's not documenting mods and hacks he's doing his best to make sure a generation of college students graduate knowing they should put their pants on one leg at a time and go on to greatness, just like Bruce Dickinson. You can follow him on if you'd like.

  • Published 08/16/12

Comments (1)

  1. Odin

    @ 1st tip

    even faster: drag the userscript/extention directly from your downloadbar on the bottom to the extentions tab

Enter Your Email Here to Get Access for Free:

Go check your email!